The Next Big Thing: A Chain Letter for Writers

I got tagged by the wonderful Eliza Victoria to be a part of this project. It’s a series of questions, and I get to tag some other people. As they post their answers on the 26th, I will put links to them. Anyways, here’s me talking about my upcoming novel.

 

1. What is the working title of your next book?

 

Salvage. Which I know is a really lame title. Still trying to think of a good title.

 

2. Where did the idea come from for the book?

 

A number of things, first off the idea that I wanted to write an action romp. Then I drew on my family’s experiences in both law enforcement and criminal activity. And lastly, I heard a story of my grandfather searching for the Yamashita gold and blowing the family fortune on that search. There was just so much stuff that had happened in my family history that it seemed a shame not to incorporate it in a book.

 

3. What genre does your book fall under?

 

Crime fiction novel. I think.

 

4.What actors would you choose to play the part of your characters in a movie rendition?

 

Gosh I never really thought about casting. If I could cast anyone, I guess I would go for Bembol Roco as the evil boss commissioner. I’d get Christopher de Leon as the con-man dad. Kinda hard pressed to think of late-20s dudes that I would cast as leads, but maybe Epy Quizon would work. As for girls, if I could get Aubrey Miles as the Eve character, that would probably work.

 

5. What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

 

20-something Johnny Boy Salvador wakes to the worst day of his life, as the threat of death looms and evil henchmen, crooked cops, his con-man father, and the search for the Yamashita gold all come suddenly crashing into his once mundane existence.

 

 

6. Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

 

At present I am revising it to be submitted to my agent. Hopefully she’ll take it. Haha.

 

 

7. How long did it take you to write the first draft of the manuscript?

 

It took me about a year to get to this first draft stage. I am beginning revisions in a week or so.

 

 

8. What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

 

I have to admit that I was largely influenced by the works of Junot Diaz, Michael Chabon, and Dave Eggers. I don’t know if I can ever compare myself to those writers, but I want to think that I was able to show some of that influence.

 

I wasn’t really looking at books for influence, as there haven’t really been many Filipino novels that functioned as capers. When I started writing I was imagining that it would have the tenor of something like a Guy Ritchie crime flick. And now thinking a little more about it, I guess I was also trying to go for like an Elmore Leonard vibe, which mixes humor and crime.

 

 

9. Who or what inspired you to write this book?

 

I felt like it was time for me to do a novel. I met my agent at a literary festival and she encouraged me to start on it. Then the other ideas that I mentioned previously started to come together, and there you have it. I just want to tell a fun, crazy crime story. I want a novel that people can enjoy and read and laugh with and just go on an adventure with.

 

10. What else about the book might pique the reader’s interest?

 

I guess the selling point is that it isn’t your usual Filipino novel. There’s no attempt to write the Great Filipino Novel. While I think there’s a fair amount of social consciousness, it’s not set out to be a commentary. It’s just an action adventure romp, and I hope people will have as much fun reading it as I did writing it.

 

 

And the five people I am tagging for this are:

 

Francis Quina

Gabriela Lee

Crystal Koo

Josel Nicolas

Rob Cham

 

One Response to The Next Big Thing: A Chain Letter for Writers

  1. Pingback: The Next Big Thing: A Chain Letter for Writers | Notes & Ephemera

Leave a Reply

