Oh Procrastination

I know one of the cardinal sins of writing is writing about writing. And yet here we are.

I’ve been trying to find a schedule for myself, one that would allow me to produce optimally. But as Dan Ariely observes in The Upside of Irrationality each and every one of us is guilty at least once in a while of procrastination. Lucky are the few who don’t do this too often. But among the people who I know who have creative pursuits, rare is the person who is always motivated to work. It doesn’t help that my motivation also gets sidetracked by console gaming and all the other stuff I could be doing.

Writing is hard. Killing bad dudes, scoring triple doubles, and saving entire galaxies are much, much easier. Which is why I have banned myself from playing PS3 until I hit my writing goal. I’m also starting to wake up at four or five in the morning (as per Francis Quina’s advice.

Thus far? I’ve got a chapter in and some paragraphs here and there. I don’t exactly know where the book is taking me yet, and I’m sure that a lot of people who write novels have a guide or map of sorts that they start with. But at this point, I’m just exploring. And sitting in front of the computer in the early hours of the morning, before the rest of the world wakes up, is getting some stuff done. Hoping it’s good stuff.

Leave a Reply

